Luiz Garcia Jr Photo


Luiz Garcia Jr.

The PPG-Dayton Indy Lights Championship is internationally recognized as an aspiring race car driver's final stop on the way to the top of the North American motorsports ladder.

As the "Official Development Series" of CART, Indy Lights has been developing talent for Indy car competition since 1986. Indy Lights graduates racing in CART include 13-race Indy car winner Paul Tracy (1990 Champion), Team Penske driver Andre Ribeiro (1994 Rookie of the Year), Bobby Rahal protoge Bryan Herta (1993 Champion), Greg Moore (I 995 Champion), Adrian Fernandez (I 992 Rookie of the Year), Pj Jones, Juan Fangio 11 and Gualter Salles.

At the foundation of this success is a formula designed to keep the competition even. A "spec" (short for specification) series, Indy Lights places an emphasis on team preparation and driver skill through the use of identical race cars. All competitors race Lola T97-20 chassis riding on Dayton Daytona racing radials. Power comes from 425-horsepower V6 engines that are sealed to prevent modification and leased from the series during the season. It all adds up to a potent package capable of speeds approaching 190 miles per hour.

Indy Lights races are sprints that range between 75 to 100 miles in length. Like the bigger CART Indy car series, Indy Lights race on four different and unique circuits: Short ovals, Road courses, Superspeedways and Street courses. ESPN2 telecasts all races in the United States while ESPN International's distribution of Indy Lights brings the series to over 188 countries.

Website design by:

Flavia Garcia  and Imago Internet Marketing

Copyright 1998 by Luiz Garcia, Jr. All rights reserved.